Alcester Academy win TES award for maths

Alcester Academy maths award
Comedian Dara Ó Briain presents the award to Alcester Academy teachers Craig Groom, Melanie Muldowney, Christian Seager, Karen Evason, Ian Hollis, and Kayleigh Elliott with headteacher Paul Hyde.

The maths teachers at Alcester Academy have won Maths Team of the Year in the Times Education Supplement (TES) Schools Awards.

The team — Chris Seager, Mel Muldowney, Kayleigh Elliot, Ian Hollis, Craig Groom and Karen Evason — have transformed maths within the school and thoroughly deserve the recognition, according to headteacher, Paul Hyde.

He told the Herald: “We could not be more thrilled to have had our achievements recognised at such a prestigious event.

“We’re the only secondary school in Warwickshire to be shortlisted for the awards, which we’re so proud of.”

Mr Hyde said that Chris Seager and Mel Muldowney were recruited in September 2014.

He added: “They have gelled the team and lifted the performance of the maths team from around the national average to well above.

“I can assure you, there are not many maths teams who achieve an 88 per cent pass rate outside of the grammar school system.”

James Yarrington, who also teaches at Alcester Academy, was shortlisted for the Arts Teacher of the Year.

Mr Hyde said: “James Yarrington did not win, but we are amazingly proud of his performance, being shortlisted in the top eight of all nominations.

“He’s worked at the academy for 18 years and has always performed well above the national average. Recently, the AQA moderator described our GCSE Art work as being of A-Level standard.”

The winners were revealed at an awards ceremony and dinner in the Grosvenor House Hotel, in Park Lane, London, on Friday evening, 24th June.

Published: By the Stratford Herald, 9 July 2016 at http://www.stratford-herald.com/55306-good-teaching-equals-success.html

We would also like to give a special mention to Shrubland Street Primary School who made the shortlist in three of the categories in this year's TES awards including Primary School of the year. Well done to all of the staff and pupils at the school. 

A full list of the winners is available at: http://www.tesawards.co.uk/tessa2016/awardswinners/winners. You can also sign up to receive updates and details of how to apply for the 2017 awards by following the above link.

Taylorfitch. Bringing Newsletters to life